Curried Eggplant and Chickpeas

I’m glad you all liked the workout cookie idea! It seriously is one of the simplest recipes on this blog, with no oven involved and with a base of just 5 ingredients.

My second version of the workout cookie turned out even better than the original! I think the crunch and slight chocolate flavor from the cacao nibs won my heart over. I am biased.

By the way, I added this cookie (along with my butternut squash fries from a while ago) to the Recipe Index. Check them out if you want to access these recipes with minimal fluff. 🙂

School has been alright. In between all the textbook reading, lecture slides reviewing, internship application sending, and other busywork, I have been enjoying all the cooking I get to do with my free time.

Cooking = lurve ❤ It seriously is the best way to relax and wind down after a long day of class!

You know what else is relaxing? The spicy aroma of Indian curry. 😉

It’s so strange that I have such an affinity for making curry at home because of my aversion to sweet “soupy” curry.

The coconut curry entrée I ordered that night was sweet, salty, spicy, creamy, and “liquidy”–and not in a good way. All of the strong flavors conflicted with each other and resulted in a dish that was too overpowering for me. Admittedly, that experience did not leave a very good impression on me.

But I swore that one day I would find a way to like curry. I really wanted to like it.

Coming to New York City for school has definitely made me more adventurous in my curry quest. There are restaurants all up and down midtown on Lexington that offer cheap and delicious vegetarian/vegan Indian cuisine, and I’ve tried a good handful of them. Some I’ve liked, some I haven’t.

Regardless, I’ve realized that maybe sweet coconut curry from that Thai restaurant isn’t my thing, because you know what? Indian curry is pretty much ah-mazing. It is savory and spicy, and especially delicious with warm roti or brown rice. And these days, I jump on any chance I get at home or in the dorm to recreate my favorite curries.

If you are somewhat of a newbie (like me) at cooking with curry, I think you will love this simple but delicious Indian-inspired recipe.

Curried Eggplant and Chickpeas

Serves 2.

Ingredients:

  • ~1 Tb of extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 medium carrot, chopped
  • 1/2 eggplant, chopped
  • 1/4 cup crushed tomato (canned)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 cup chickpeas (canned or fresh)
  • salt
  • pepper
  • crushed red pepper

Instructions:

  1. On medium-high heat and in a pot with a drizzle of olive oil, add the onion, curry powder, garam masala, and garlic powder. Sauté until onions are soft.
  2. Add carrot and eggplant. Pour in the crushed tomato, water, and chickpeas.
  3. When almost all of the water evaporates and the carrots and eggplant begin to get tender, turn the heat on low and season to taste with salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper. Let it simmer for a good 5-10 minutes until the mixture thickens.
  4. [OPTIONAL] Garnish with a dollop of your favorite hummus and a sprinkle of sesame seeds. Serve over whole grains (i.e. brown rice, quinoa) and/or dark leafy greens (i.e. kale, chard, collard, spinach).

I enjoyed mine over lightly steamed rainbow chard and leftover red quinoa.

Yum yum yum.

Stay tuned: My boyfriend recently celebrated 14 months at a famous veg. restaurant in NYC. Any guesses? 🙂

Questions: Are you a curry fan? What’s your favorite curry dish? Like I said, I’ve been loving Indian curry these days. My favorite dish to order (and make) is either baingan bartha (eggplant curry). And of course, I looooove roti.

7 Responses to Curried Eggplant and Chickpeas

  1. Kat says:

    I LOVE eggplant! I have to make this!

  2. Jessica says:

    When I first looked at this, with your title and the workout cookie, I thought you were making curried eggplant cookies.

    Your recipe looks good – I like the hummus on top. I’m a soupy Thai-curry fan, myself, especially massaman with sweet potatoes and tofu. Eggplant and chickpeas are some of my favorite foods, too, though.

    • Natasha says:

      A man at our farmers market makes homemade Massaman Thai curry and I fell in love with it. I usually have it with veggies and rice. Next time I’m going to try the sweet pot./tofu combo…bet it’s delicious!!

  3. Natasha says:

    Mmm…looks super tasty! I’m picky about my curry dishes too. Even more so Indian food that has strong cummin is hard for me. I tried a vegetable Korma with paneer cheese last time I was out and it was perfectly seasoned and so good!!

  4. Mmmmmmm that looks delicious! I still haven’t had a chance to try your workout cookie yet, but it’s on my to-do list! I always fail at making good curry at home – I think I’ve only been successful a handful of times. I think I’m just not used to the spices and getting the right proportions. But that does look pretty easy, fresh and delicious. I’ll have to give it a try some time!

  5. lasmananitas says:

    I’ve been eyeing the eggplants at the grocery store but I’ve never had one, and I’ve used curry powder in recipes, but I don’t think I’ve ever eaten curry, like the dish.
    Hey- I can fix both of these things thanks to this post!
    Yay!
    I’ve been going through your recipe index bookmarking pages! there’s a lot of things I’ve never used before and I’m excited about trying them! I tagged you in a versitale blogger award – and am now officially giving you the “inspiring” award, too!!

  6. Simply Life says:

    Yum! That looks great!

Leave a Reply

