And another semester begins…

Spring semester officially started, as of yesterday. I miss the comforts of home (especially the kitchen, of course), but I looove the city, so it works out.

As I hurried to rush out the door on Sunday evening, I didn’t have a chance to post my eats from that day:

Breakfast: overnight oats with… goji berries

I say it with some degree of reluctance because while the goji berries look pretty, I wasn’t a fan. Are they really that sweet?? They kind of tasted like hard raisins made of pure sugar. I hope I used a bad batch. I want to like goji berries because they’re so good for you!

Lunch:

Sandwich with whole grain toast, avocado hummus, tabbouleh, and 1/4 avocado sliced up.

And some leftover balsamic stir-fry random veggies and tofu. Do you stir-fry with balsamic? It’s my latest obsession!

Check out the new plate and placemat! 🙂

After a couple hours of house browsing, we got home, only to get into the car to pay a visit to Wegmans. I snacked on some steamed edamame to curb my hunger.

Dinner was a vegetable brown rice roll courtesy of Wegmans.

The sushi container was super cute! Like a little boat. I wasn’t a fan of the ingredients of the sauce packets that were included, so I just made my own dipping sauce: soy sauce and balsamic.

With some broccoli and falafel on the side.

I got these vegan falafels from Costco. The package instructions clearly discourages microwaving them, but I actually find them perfectly warmed up and cooked through (without the extra oil) if I just “defrost” it in the microwave for 3 minutes.

My boyfriend surprised me with this when I got to New York:

I’ve wanted one for so long! I love pushing the button on the top. 🙂

Probably the best part is how big it is! I no longer have to wash and spin my kale/greens in batches. YES.

(It is a little bit harder to store, especially in a small dorm kitchen, but it’s just a very minor inconvenience.)

The bottom bowl is also aesthetically pleasing enough to use as a serving bowl for the salad! Cool, right?

Breakfast yesterday was overnight oats with fresh blueberries, almond butter, pumpkin, cinnamon, coconut, and cacao nibs.

No banana because I forgot to buy them! What’s important is that I finally got my hands on fresh organic blueberries. Is it finally blueberry season? They are so plump and delicious. 🙂

Alright, I must get some reading done now.

Have a lovely day!

4 Responses to And another semester begins…

  1. Olivia says:

    Just found you over at Elise’s, and I love your blog!! I’m having fun exploring around and reading all your old posts:) All your eats for today look fab-I’m currently obsessed with VOO.

    I just started my own healthy living blog and I’d love for you to come check it out! Let me know what you think of it 🙂

  2. hey I just found you form your comment on our blog. ! Love your photography

  3. Jessica says:

    This post kept getting better and better … and then I couldn’t believe you ended with a salad spinner! It’s such a cliche device but so totally practical. I want one, but I’m holding off until I get a bigger kitchen. But maybe, since you can store yours in the dorm, I should go for it. Hmmm….

  4. I’m pretty obsessed with balsamic vinegar. I’ve been known to add it to everything, including my pizza just before I eat it. I have never thought to stir-fry with it though…. trying that ASAP. 😀

    I’m not a huge fan of goji berries on their own either. My mom usually puts them in her chinese style soups (I guess as the sweetener because I don’t remember them being too sweet) and I was always just okay with them. Maybe you could add some to your tea to plump them up and also sweeten your tea at the same time?

Leave a Reply

