Butternut Squash Fries

This post begins with a little confession: I haven’t really ran or exercised “for real” in MONTHS. Probably since October…

I honestly just haven’t had the time. I’ve been studying literally non-stop for my first actuarial exam, which is next Saturday (eek!).

In an effort to get in a little bit of movement, I’ve been doing some random workouts indoors. Random as in dancing to music, running in place, and various made-up moves. I feel silly talking about it, but it’s actually pretty fun. I’m sure it would be silly to watch me, too. I do it in my room because it’s awkward around my family. 😛

I started doing planks a few days ago, and my arms and shoulders are SORE! The good type though. 😀

I woke up this morning, did my daily planks and stretches, then had a glorious bowl of this:

It’s winter and it’s freezing cold, but I still love my overnight oats. 🙂 Lately I’ve been loving the banana +frozen berries + AB + pumpkin + plain Greek yogurt + cinnamon + ground black sesame + unsweetened coconut combo.

It’s a lot but every ingredient contributes its own flavor to the mix! I like to switch up the berries with papaya, too.

By the way, I’ve been using plain water instead of nut milk as the liquid for the oats because the only nondairy milk we have in the house is sweetened vanilla soymilk, which I find too sweet, especially when there’s banana in there. But if I’m in the mood I’ll drizzle a little bit over the oats at the very end, and it’s quite delicious that way!

But enough breakfast talk.

Today I continue with a B word of equal importance. Can you guess? 😉

As I thoroughly discussed in my last post, I’ve been having a major butternut squash kick. This afternoon I dabbled with more recipe ideas to use up our stash.

Enter butternut squash fries.

Butternut Squash Fries

These are definitely not your average fries. They are slightly crisp on the outside while still soft and fluffy on the inside. Compared to a sweet potato, the butternut squash makes for fries with a sweeter and nuttier flavor. I experimented with two versions: half with just sea salt and the other half with a blend of sea salt, flaxseed, and herbs. You can make a single serving or a big batch for a crowd. I’ve omitted measurements because almost everything is based on your own flavor preferences.

Ingredients:

  • butternut squash
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • sea salt

For the seasoned version:

  • ground flaxseed
  • your choice of dried herbs

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Chop your butternut squash into matchsticks about 1/2 inch thick all around. I recommend cutting them thicker than thinner, because they do shrink in the oven.
  3. In a mixing bowl, drizzle olive oil over the butternut squash and sprinkle the salt. If you are also using seasoning, add the mix now. Don’t be afraid to use your hands to incorporate everything together. Make sure you coat the butternut squash well to prevent sticking to the foil or burning.
  4. Arrange the matchsticks onto a foil covered baking sheet. I lightly greased it just to ensure no sticking.
  5. Bake for 20-45 minutes. It really depends how big your batch is and how thick each fry is. Just remember to flip each fry midway through.

Chop chop chop and arrange.

Just plain sea salt:

With seasoning (I use a special Greek blend of milled flaxseed and various herbs):

After 30 minutes in the oven and one flip midway through…

I prefer the herb seasoned fries, partially because they are so photogenic. 😉

I can’t wait to try other toppings. I bet they would be delicious with a cinnamon coating as well. Or perhaps with chili powder and paprika for a spicy kick. Or maybe nutritional yeast for a cheesy take on these butternut squash fries?

Next time I won’t be afraid to make the fries thicker. I’ll also make more than one serving, too. These do not last long, trust me!

7 Responses to Butternut Squash Fries

  1. Ohhhh those look so yummy!! I’ve never had butternut fries before? Consider this bookmarked 😉

  2. these butternut squash fries look AMAZING. i’m glad you had a chance to stop by my blog, which is still a work in progress but slowly getting better. your blog is what inspired me to try overnight oats…and now i’m HOOKED.

  3. chow vegan says:

    OMG, those butternut squash fries look so good! I love butternut squash! What a great idea, I’ll have to make some soon! Thanks for the recipe and good luck on your exam! 🙂

  4. Kat says:

    I LOVE butternut squash fries!! I made some for the first time this year and ate them for probably a week straight! Your pictures are making me want them again!

  5. Jenny says:

    I’ve never had squash fries before! They look good. The exercise comment made me laugh because I do things like that all of the time. I lie in bed and do the bicycle motion with my legs when I feel like I need to exercise. Or I’ll suddenly start running in place when I’m feeling fat. 🙂 It makes me feel like I’m doing something.

  6. Your squash fries look SO fantastic! They look super flavorful. (:

  7. cbrady3 says:

    I’ve never made butternut squash fries – only sweet potato and parsnip – but those look AMAZING. Love the idea of flax or chia seeds on them!

Leave a Reply

