Back with a Recap

Hi everyone! 🙂 Happy November! Wow, it has been a long time, hasn’t it? I hope you are all doing well.

My life has been very busy but exciting. Typical of a college sophomore, as you can imagine.

The good thing is, amidst all the hubbub, I am still a vegetarian (and per usual, almost vegan).

Another good thing is that I still take pictures of my food when I remember to do so. Once a food blogger, always a food blogger! 😛

Here’s a HUGE recap of some of my eats from the last two months:

Lunch at Curly’s. My boyfriend had the Buffalo Blue Burger with a side of Curly’s signature Curly Fries.

I was pretty torn between what to order! I ended up getting the Dragon Bowl Q: “savory quinoa, spicy soy chicken, corn, avocado, black beans, ripe mango and crispy tortilla chips tossed with lettuce and dressed with chipotle nayo.” It was very good! My only complaint is that the food was very salty. I ended up not needing the chipotle nayo for my dish. We used it as a fries dipper instead. 😛

After a night of frolicking with hundreds of other fun New Yorkers at the MP3 Experiment (it was AMAZING!), we had dinner at Home on 8th. This Chinese restaurant features a large vegetarian section of the menu. Word on the street is that there is also a separate kitchen to prepare vegetarian dishes! Pretty cool.

Boyfriend ordered the Udon Noodle Soup with Szechuan Marinated Soymeat.

I followed suit by ordering the other dish under the “Fall 2010” section of the vegetarian menu: the House Dumpling Soup with Udon Noodle. The broth was a little sweet and savory without being overly salty, and the noodles were nice and chewy. The dumplings were my favorite part!

My favorite ice cream parlor in NYC: Sundaes and Cones. Their black sesame ice cream and pumpkin (seasonal!) ice cream are so. freaking. good.

I’ve snacked on 2 minute cinnamon apple surprises and topped them with Libby’s pumpkin.

One Sunday morning, I decided to make homemade bean burgers! I omitted the carrots, and for convenience, I used canned beans instead of dry. Regardless, the end result was quite similar to how I remember it. It was also the first batch (5 patties) that I’ve ever made in this dorm kitchen. Just goes to show that it is possible to do these things in college. 🙂

Black bean burger sandwich with hummus, avocado, kale, and a bit of spicy TJ’s salsa. With a carrot on the side. 😀

My boyfriend made me veggie fajitas one night. They were so quick and delicious. 🙂

My recent obsession: Indian food! After eating out at our first Indian restaurant, we decided to replicate Indian curry at home.

I present to you our homemade version of Aloo Baingan (potato and eggplant).

I am so proud of us! It looked and tasted restaurant-quality. 😉 We loved it so much that we made the same dish again a few days later, except adding sweet potatoes the second time around for a nutrition boost.

For the past few weeks, it has been a pleasure waking up in the morning to pumpkin overnight oats. (Note: my bed gets the BEST LIGHTING when it’s 7am in the morning :D)

This is my typical PM oats base (with some coconut milk mixed in) topped in the AM with half a banana, a few strawberries (thawed from freezer), almond butter, canned pumpkin, Greek yogurt, cinnamon, unsweetened coconut, and a sprinkle of cacao nibs. I’ve alternated strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries for some variety.

The pumpkin + cinnamon + Greek yogurt combo is out-of-this-world delicious. It’s sweet, a little tart, and oh so creamy.

I am on my 4th large can of Libby’s pumpkin. I think I go through one can–by myself–every 10 days. I eat some every morning and unsurprisingly, I haven’t gotten sick of it. I must go buy more soon because this is my last can. 😉

Lunch yesterday was a platter of odds and ends on a bed of massaged kale.

Raw broccoli, raw mushrooms, raw zucchini, a spoonful of kidney beans, and leftover Thai stir-fry from the night before. With a slice of “Marathon” bread on the side. That dark brown blob is a steamed beet that I threw on top last minute. 😛

Dinner tonight featured a steamed acorn squash topped with a stir-fry of cubed mushrooms, zucchini, and tofu–thrown together with some kidney beans, tomato sauce, and hot sauce. Massaged kale and sauteed broccoli on the side. I also snuck in a slice of hearty Marathon bread topped with a bit of hummus.

Delicious. You can’t beat 71 cents for an acorn squash!

* * *

Writing and putting together this post has reminded me of how much I love blogging. I missed it! ❤ In addition, please note that I still read your blogs whenever I can, but I may not have the time to comment.

It’s time to get to work now, but I am craving dark chocolate and Indian food. I can satisfy the first craving now and the latter tomorrow. (The boyfriend and I are eating out for our 11 monthiversary. ;))

Good night!

5 Responses to Back with a Recap

  1. Jessica says:

    Looks like you have been eating well! Is it easy to get up early with that morning light?

    Have a good monthiversary and I hope school is going well!

  2. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan says:

    I wondered what happened to you! So good to hear from you! I’ve had a wild last couple months too, so I understand. Everything here looks amazing. Way to go for jumping on the Indian food wagon! It’s my very favorite type of cuisine. 🙂

  3. Jenny says:

    Glad you’re back – with wonderful looking pictures of goods, as usual! My husband is obsessed with Curly’s gravy fries.

  4. I absolutely love reading your blog! i love connecting with fellow college veg :]] you defiantly got me hooked on overnight oats….especially adding the pumpkin. I picked up some pumpkin butter from trader Joe’s this weekend and used it this morning. . it was amazing.

    thanks for the posts!

  5. Salah says:

    omg yum!!! All that food looks amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

