Comfort Foods?

It’s September, and fall is almost here. You know what that means–FLU SEASON!

Yay! (not)

To no one’s surprise, especially my own, I’ve been feeling pretty sick lately. I don’t know if it’s the flu or just a regular cold, but all I can say is that being sick is not fun.

For one, I just came back from an acapella audition, and apparently I went from a soprano to an alto. Thank you, croaky-old-man voice.

Secondly, a dry throat means no spicy food! (Or at least, lay low on the spice…) Last night, before going out for Fashion’s Night Out, my boyfriend, my roommate and I hit K-town for some yummy Korean bibimbap. In case you don’t know, bibimbap is steamed rice topped with a variety of veggies, a sunnyside up egg, and your choice of protein. I had mine with tofu. While bibimbap is not bland on its own, the spicy red sauce that accompanies it totally *makes* the dish. I only used one spoonful of my share, and passed the rest to my roommate. I couldn’t not use at least a little of it. Come on. 😉

The good thing about being sick, or at least something I can accept, is that most comfort, “get better” foods are what I already eat on a normal basis.

Take cinnamon, for example. Cinnamon is an excellent source of manganese, fiber, iron, and calcium. Eating it can lower LDL cholesterol, regulate blood sugar, and reduce the growth of cancer cells. Some studies have also shown that simply smelling cinnamon can improve your memory. (Source)

I just love cinnamon for its taste and aroma!

It’s perfect atop breakfast oatmeal, also a comfort food:

Overnight oats with blueberries, almond butter (roasted and raw), unsweetened coconut, cacao nibs, and a big dollop of plain Greek yogurt. And a very generous “dusting” of cinnamon. 😉

By the way, I had purchased raw almond butter from Trader Joe’s, and I LOVE it! It has the rich, no-stir creaminess that I haven’t exactly had with the roasted variety. I’ve been trying to finish my dwindling jar of Maranatha roasted almond butter that I brought from home. It was so hard to scoop the bottom of the jar–the almond “butter” down there was more like semi-dry clumps!

Overnight oats with blueberries, strawberries, 1/2 banana, tons of almond butter clumps (last of the roasted!), unsweetened coconut, cacao nibs, and a big dollop of plain Greek yogurt. Oh yes, and as usual, a heaping shake of cinnamon.

Hm, I should eat less dairy though, since I’ve read that it could make a cold worse. Good thing the only dairy I have in the fridge is Greek yogurt. A smaller dollop of it on the oats next time!

Cinnamon is basically great with nut butter in general. I shared a microwave sweet potato with my honey one night. My boyfriend had his SP plain (so boring), but I decided to be a little more adventurous. I’ve read so much about how sweet potatoes + nut butter = heaven in your mouth, and wanted to see for myself. I topped my half with cinnamon and took a bite. It indeed was delicious! So melty and dessert-like. I basically inhaled it, but in retrospect, I’ll admit it was a lot of sweet at once. In the future I will remember to eat it slower. 🙂

Another comfort food is porridge! I made some for my boyfriend when he was sick. I boiled carrots, green beans, and celery, and added some cooked brown rice and let it simmer until thick but still soupy. I added almost no salt. The next day was when I began to feel sick (I swear he passed it on to me!), so I had leftover porridge with some nutritional yeast. (The porridge actually thickened a lot overnight. No worries, still good!)

As soon as I got sick, my boyfriend miraculously recovered (funny how that always happens, huh). He’s been making me decaf green tea. I find tea and hot water both to be very therapeutic. It also takes longer to drink because I have to be careful not to burn my tongue!

What are your comfort, “get better” foods?

I have been quite busy with school and life in general, but I swear I will catch up with blog reading and commenting. 🙂

Have a fantastic weekend and try not to get sick!

P.S. Yay for vegan cupcakes! I want to try Babycakes and Stogo one of these days.

5 Responses to Comfort Foods?

  1. Salah says:

    I love overnight oats….I defnitely think of oats as a wintertime treat :-). Mostly in the summers I crave yogurt or smoothies for breakfast

  2. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan says:

    My comfort foods are hot, spicy, exotic Indian and Thai dishes…I always found that spicy things made my nose run, which actually cleared out my sinuses when I was sick!

    I haven’t been sick once, though, since March 2004 😀 I’m hoping I can keep the streak going indefinitely!

  3. Jessica says:

    That amount of cinnamon should entitle you to the full healing properties 😉

    I manage to get sick usually only once a year (I’m not around people at school or work since I telecommute, that probably has a lot to do with it) and I usually crave a Diet Coke or ginger ale.

    Feel better soon!

  4. Sweet potatoes and nut butter – how cool is that? I would have never thought of something that creative on my own;) And your pics of the overnight oats are beautiful!

  5. Jenny says:

    That sweet potato looks cool! I’ve been trying to remember to use cinnamon more often – interesting facts/benefits you’ve included!

Leave a Reply

