Breaking In The Dorm Kitchen

like how you “break in” your new shoes! Notice how I didn’t say we broke INTO the dorm kitchen.

Sunday morning was move-in day!

That morning I had a bowl of overnight oats awaiting my consumption. I topped it off Strawberry Banana Split style–quick, easy, and delicious.

We drove into the city and upon arrival, I checked in and signed up for a moving cart. We unloaded all of my “stuff” into the cart and managed to haul everything up in just two trips.

I’m in a “double,” meaning that I have one other roommate. This is what our dorm looks like, all settled in.

And this is the kitchen that I share with my four other suitemates:

Cutest kitchen towel!

After rearranging some furniture and unpacking a bit, my family and I headed out to lunch at Spice, a Thai eatery.

We ate at the upper level:

Bird’s eye view of the ground level:

I had the Mandarin salad as my appetizer. It was your pretty standard fare of salad, with a dressing that tasted like sweet plum sauce. That dark circular blob you see on the right is a veggie dumpling (drenched in what seems to have been that same plum sauce) that my grandma insisted I try from her appetizer plate. The dumpling was tasty, just as how I remembered it from my previous visits.

My entree was steamed veggies and tofu with again the same sweet sauce, along with a cone shaped mound of brown rice. If there’s one thing I’ve learned about Thai food, it’s that they love sweet sauces… and recycling the same sauce in several different meals. Oh well!

That night, we were promised free Chipotle in the dorm basement/lounge, but after several delays, my friends and I decided to ditch. There was no way our growling tummies could wait til 9:30 pm for DINNER! By then I hadn’t eaten anything since 1 pm except 3/4 of a fruit leather. Luckily, I had leftover grilled vegetables that I brought over from home, so to that I threw in some tofu, two slices of Ezekiel Cinnamon Raisin bread, and hummus.

The next morning kicked off my first full day at the dorm. I wished I could’ve slept in a little, but I still had work. I woke up bright and early and had all intentions of eating my usual breakfast, oatmeal of course. But we didn’t have a microwave yet! I resorted to cooking the oats on the stovetop, which I admit I’ve only done probably twice in my life. I’m not sure if I cooked it all the way through, but the oatmeal looked thick enough. I mixed in some plain Greek yogurt and a splash of vanilla soy, and topped it off with raspberries, banana, raw almond butter, unsweetened coconut, and cacao nibs. It tasted like home!

At work I snacked on a Fuji apple.

Lunch was a massaged kale salad with raw tofu and a stirfry of sweet onions and carrots

and a hummus sandwich. I think the sweetness from the cinnamon and raisin really goes well with the salty tangy-ness of the hummus!

Around 5pm I had a Larabar snacklet.

For dinner, my boyfriend came over for dinner. We “broke in” my kitchen by making some veggie pasta.

This was whole grain fusili pasta with onions, carrots, kale, tofu, navy beans, and tomato sauce.

We agreed that hummus was a necessary topping.

Yummy and dorm kitchen-friendly.

Okay, I’m off to go spend the day with my favorite guy! Today is our 9 month anniversary. 🙂

7 Responses to Breaking In The Dorm Kitchen

  1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan says:

    Love the donut towel!
    Congrats on the move and your anniversary :] The pasta looks yummy.

  2. Happy anniversary!

    Looks like you are doing a great job eating in the dorm. Also, I love restaurants with second levels! I know it’s silly to get excited about that, but it’s always fun to sit upstairs.

  3. Tina says:

    Dorm living is so rough! How great that you are able to focus on healthy eating despite it all. I know when I had to live in dorms it was not the healthiest of times.

  4. Your room looks awesome! So much better than the dorms at my last college. And we had like two restaurants in the town lol

    Happy Anniversary! 🙂

  5. KaraHadley says:

    1) I think I have the EXACT same desk and dresser in my dorm. Do you find it as weird as I do that nothing has handles?
    2) Can you pleasepleaseplease tell me what the heck massaged kale is? It doesn’t honestly mean to rub the leaves, does it? I’m so out of the loop.

    • Diana says:

      Haha I’m used to it! It was like that last year, too.
      Massaged kale indeed involves rubbing the leaves, usually with some sort of oil. Doing so wilts the tough kale so it’s a little easier to digest.

  6. Jenny says:

    I actually miss living in a dorm. I always thought it was so fun!

Leave a Reply

