Hello and Goodbye

Saturday was the day. The day I said goodbye.

“Rest in peace,” I whispered to my beloved first(born) jar of almond butter.

Am I sad? Not quite. Why brood when I can savor the memories?

I remember the first time I saw you sitting inconspicuously on a shelf at Costco. I jostled my way through your peanut buttery cousins and, out of hundreds of your siblings, I grabbed you–yes, you! And now that this fateful moment has come, I shall of course remember your last words. “Eat me!” you cried softly, as you tightly hugged my breakfast oats one last time.

*sigh* The least I could do is honor your final wishes.

(with overnight oats, blueberries, papaya, crushed walnuts and pecans, and cacao nibs)

The next day, I had a new jar just waiting to be opened. Talk about irreplaceable…

Why hello, new love of my life! (with overnight oats, blueberries, strawberries, crushed walnuts and pecans, unsweetened shredded coconut, and cacao nibs)

And hello, tupperware work lunch!

Gigantic salad (spinach, carrots, celery, tomatoes, kabocha, avocado, hummus) with a slice of multigrain bread.

Along with oodles of snacks: cherries, dates, Chocolate Coconut Chew Larabar.

This was my first time trying this Larabar variety. I had never bought it before, but the name sounded yummy so I stocked up on a lot.

Let me just say that names don’t mean squat.

Mind you, I love dates on their own (as you can see below) and of course I will never turn down good chocolate, but honestly, the two of them together just tasted a little funny to me. Maybe it’s an acquired taste? Let me chomp through my other 9 bars and I’ll let you know if anything changes. This may or may not be goodbye.

Tonight we met up with neighbors for dinner at a local Thai eatery.

I love how the menu started off with a DISCLAIMER.

My neighbor ordered his “hot.” He managed to down almost half of his meal with two heaping bowls of rice, a pitcher of ice water, and a pile of tissues (just kidding… kinda). What a pro. 😀

I ordered the Gaeng Massaman (mild) off the vegetarian menu. They had me at “pumpkin.” Mmmm kabocha?? Yes, please!

As we shivered in the very well air-conditioned room waiting for our meals, like any mildly obsessed food blogger I whipped out the camera and snapped away.

And the food finally came.

I knew that I was taking a risk by getting curry. You see, I’ve ordered Thai curry twice before from other places, and both times things did not go very swell, to say the least. I thought I would try something different than my usual sweet basil stir-fry, so I took my chances once more. After all, it’s possible that those restaurants were to blame for my mishaps, not the curry dishes themselves.

Nope. It’s the curry.

The veggies in the dish were pretty good, and I appreciate that they replaced fried tofu (bean curd) with the fresh tofu that I had requested. But the curry sauce (read: soup) was overly salty, sweet, spicy, and creamy–all at the same time. It was flavorful alright. A little too flavorful. I ended up just picking out the veggies and tofu one by one with my chopsticks. Like rescuing victims drowning in an oil spill, I tell ya.

I don’t know, maybe curry just isn’t for me. Or, I keep finding the wrong places to eat it. But rest assured: one day I will sit down to a nice bowl of vegetable curry and enjoy it indiscriminately, bite for bite. This is not goodbye.

8 Responses to Hello and Goodbye

  1. Oh, I like massaman curry, but I see how yours seemed to be trying to do too much! I also like Thai basil stir fry. Actually, I base my choice on the restaurant where I’m dining — I have my favorites for both dishes.

    Did you make your overnight oats in the almond butter jar? I can’t tell from your photos, but it looks like you did. That’s an idea I’ve read about but have not yet tried. Glad you have another one ready to go!

    • Diana says:

      Nope. I actually made the overnight oats in a separate bowl, and mixed it into the AB jar in the morning. Something about nut butter soaking overnight with nut milk weirds me out! 😛

  2. Jenny says:

    You’re funny. I was worried you were going to say good-bye to blogging or something. :0

    I have never had Thai curry before (I don’t really know if I’ve ever had Thai period), but I do really love the curry at our Indian restaurant. (I love chickpeas in curry sauce.) I’m not normally a spicy-loving person, but there are just a few things in life that I love spicy.

  3. lol loved your cute little almond butter narrative!! At least it made one final delicious looking breakfast 🙂

    And I loveeee thai food! That would be my hangout place for sure.

  4. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan says:

    Hehe! I love almond butter, and your always-scrumptious-sounding oatmeal concoctions!

    But whatever you do, don’t give up on curry! There are just too many different types and varieties out there to swear off it altogether. Maybe try making some at home? I have a killer Indian curried lentils recipe

  5. Pingback: Cooking Economically: Pasta-less Eggplant Lasagna « VEGeneration

  6. Pingback: Curried Eggplant and Chickpeas « VEGeneration

Leave a Reply

