Dessert Wraps

In the summertime, getting up for early morning runs at 8am are good for two reasons:

1. Beat the heat. It’s only 9:30am and I can already feel it getting hot! I’m glad I got my workout out of the way.

2. Cold and refreshing bowl of crunchy, creamy, chewy goodness. Yeah, the 3C’s of good food can be found not just in salads, but right in my overnight oats too!

Featuring my typical VOO base topped with papaya, blueberries, a drizzle of almond butter (about a tablespoon), and some crushed walnuts. This has got to be one of my favorite VOO combos!! A little sweet (papaya), a little tart (blueberries), a little nutty (no need for explanation)… Oh dear I’m on a roll with referencing to previous posts! LOL

* * *

For some reason yesterday, I couldn’t stop snacking. I was chomping on something every 1-2 hours in between meals. My stomach capacity must have been super big! 😆 I probably downed 4 bowls of fruit, along with these notable beauties:

Cucumber and celery sticks with roasted pine nut hummus. Crunch crunch!

And looking for something sweet, I made a dessert wrap!!

That’s a regular whole wheat wrap with almond butter, 1/2 peach, and a sprinkle of cinnamon.

The wrap itself was a little bit on the salty side (even a tad sour… must be all those acids)–no surprise, since it’s intended for savory meals. But I didn’t mind; in fact, I liked it! It must really be true that salt brings out the sweetness in dishes because all I really tasted was the sweet and tangy nuttiness (again!) of the filling.

* * *

I have a cup of black beans that have been soaking for about a day now (drained and rinsed twice so far)…

…but I don’t know what to make with them yet! Hmmm.

I am expecting a package to arrive today. I can’t wait to share it with you all 😉 Until then, have a great morning and afternoon and try to stay out of the heat! It’s going to be sizzling today for sure.

Have you tried sweet dessert wraps? And what are your favorite bean recipes?


Leave a Reply

