No-Bake 5 Ingredient Workout Cookie

Are you ever at a loss for what to eat before going to the gym in the morning?

I am. Quite frequently, I must say. (Appropriate face, no?)

I feel like morning workouts happen at such an awkward time. :( I wake up and I haven’t eaten in at least 6 hours, so I’m low on energy. I definitely want to eat something before leaving for the gym, but not too much.

Unsure of what do to, I’ve had my share of both ends of the spectrum: eating a complete breakfast, such as oatmeal (bad idea if it isn’t fully digested!) or going on practically an empty stomach to burn the most calories (even worse idea… I do this if I eat a lot the night before, which results in very little energy when I exercise), as well as almost everything in between.

Those “in-between” pre-workout snacks have included:

  • half of a banana
  • a few dates
  • an apple
  • half of a Larabar
  • anything random with some sugar/carbs

Yes, these have worked for the most part, but I just feel that they are missing that extra… specialness. I’m talking about something that’s tasty with a kick that will wake you up and make you want to just get up and dance.

(No, not caffeine… ;))

I played around with a few ingredients last night. My mission was to create a new snack that was quick and easy but not boring.

Friends, I have returned and I am not empty-handed.

No-Bake 5 Ingredient Workout Cookie

This is the perfect fuel for gym-goers who rush to the gym in the morning and try to squeeze in a workout before class or work. Right out of your freezer, this cookie is refreshing, chewy, and sweet, with subtle undertones of peanut butter. If you are feeling generous, split it with your gym buddy. Otherwise, go ahead–enjoy this super healthy “cookie” all for yourself. You deserve it.

Makes 1 cookie.

Ingredients:

1 very ripe medium banana
1/4 cup rolled oats
1 Tb peanut flour (I use TJ’s brand. If you don’t have this ready, you can substitute crushed almonds, pecans, or walnuts.)
1 tsp sesame seeds (optional; have fun with your own mix-ins)
1/4 tsp cinnamon
pinch of salt
sesame seeds for garnish (optional; have fun with your own toppings)

Method:

1. Mash the banana well.

2. Stir in the rolled oats, peanut flour, sesame seeds (or your own mix-ins), cinnamon, and salt.

3. Scoop mixture onto a small plate. Flatten into a round “cookie” shape, somewhere around 6 inches in diameter. Sprinkle sesame seeds (or your choice of toppings) on top; press down slightly so they stick to the cookie.

4. Freeze overnight and enjoy in the morning before a workout.

So easy, right? And they are all items you probably already have in your pantry.

I know it’s technically 6 ingredients, but I figured salt shouldn’t really count. ;)

The night before:

Looks gooey and way too liquidy, but don’t worry! That is the right texture.

In the morning: all firmed up and ready to eat!

Here’s a tip on how to peel the cookie off: Hold the plate vertically and run hot water down the bottom of the plate. Also allow a tiny trickle of water run “through” the cookie. This little bit of heat will help to release the cookie from the plate.

Tonight I made a workout cookie remix. :D

I added unsweetened coconut flakes to the “batter” and topped it off with sesame seeds and cacao nibs. It’s chilling in the freezer right now.

That will be the reason I wake up on time tomorrow morning. Who needs cell phone alarms anymore?

Anyway, let me know if you try this! If you love bananas or banana soft serve, I think you will love this cookie. :)

12 Responses to No-Bake 5 Ingredient Workout Cookie

  1. Kat says:

    YUM!! love this idea! I am totally with you one the eating/workoout thing. I either eat too much and cramp up or dont eat enough and am seriously lacking energy. Its a tricky balance to try and find!

  2. Jessica says:

    This is a great idea – how did you come up with it?

    I’m not one to worry about going to the gym in the morning, but it does seem like a great breakfast anyway. Kind of like no-bake oatmeal cookies, but healthier.

  3. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan says:

    Another use for peanut flour, sweet! :)

  4. Natasha says:

    Great idea…looks yummy!

  5. I don’t workout in the morning (or, ever)– but mornings before my first class are a hard time too! I’m usually not hungry but need something before being on campus for a few hours. This is a wonderful idea! I usually grab one of those things you mentioned above — half of something rather as a quickie while I head out.

  6. Looks fabulous! I often struggle figuring out what to eat before I work out in the morning (which, admittedly, hasn’t happened in a while…haha). I will try this out some time! :)

  7. oatsandspice says:

    Wow this no bake cookie seriously looks amazing – I am making it ASAP :)

    I love your blog – it is so cute! I can’t wait to keep reading… I just started blogging about 2 months ago – it is extremely addicting :) Take a look at it if you get a chance: http://www.oatsandspice.wordpress.com

  8. Jenny says:

    This would be great for my son. It’s hard to get him to eat right when he wakes up, and he often ends up eating breakfast in the car on the way to school.

  9. This looks delicious! Reminds me of The Fitnessista’s Breakfast Cookie!! I normally chow down on pb toast before a workout or a run and then eat a second breakfast after I’m done

  10. Pingback: Page not found « VEGeneration

  11. Pingback: Page not found « VEGeneration

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

